Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus RSS

Meet the 2018 NJBIZ Health Care Hero finalists

By ,

The NJBIZ Health Care Heroes Awards honor exceptional individuals and organizations making an impact on the condition of health care in New Jersey.

Nominations are evaluated by a panel of independent judges, with one winner chosen for each category.

Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony Tuesday, June 19 at the Palace in Somerset Park, beginning at 8:00 am. To learn more and register, visit our Events Page.

This year’s finalists include:

Education Hero

Linda Carroll, vice president patient care services
Saint Peter's University Hospital

Connie Greene, vice president
RWJBarnabas Health Institute for Prevention and Recovery

Christopher Kobik, superintendent
Lower Cape May Regional School District

Beth McGovern, patient safety coordinator
The Valley Hospital

Maureen Mulligan, clinical education specialist
St. Joseph's Health

J. Cedar Wang, director of simulation education and administrative director of professional practice
Holy Name Medical Center

Education Hero – Organization

7 Days Pediatrics
Nimisha Shukla, chairperson; Sudev Datta, director of business development

Indian Health Camp of New Jersey
Dr. Tushar Patel, president

Overlook Medical Center
Alan Lieber, president

Urban Healthcare Initiative Program
Frank Jordan, executive director

Health Care Professional

Linda Gillam, Dorothy and Lloyd Huck chair of cardiovascular medicine, Morristown Medical Center
Atlantic Health System

Samantha Singh-Hernandez, director
Saint Barnabas Medical Center-RWJ Barnabas Health

Donald Parker, president and CEO
Carrier Clinic

Elizabeth Straus, executive vice president

Deborah Visconi, president and CEO
New Bridge Medical Center

Peter "Tucker" Woods, chief medical officer, Christ Hospital
CarePoint Health

Innovation Hero

Kaitlan Baston, medical director addiction medicine
Cooper University Healthcare

Richard Grosso, CEO
Your Nurse In Touch LLC

Gaurav Gupta, director cerebrovascular and endovascular neurosurgery
Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital and Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Joachim Kohn, director
New Jersey Center for Biomaterials

Maria Schiavone, gynecologic oncologist
Holy Name Medical Center

Innovation Hero – Organization

CarePoint Health
Peter Daniels, chief operating officer

Hackensack Meridian Health
Robert C. Garrett, co-CEO
John K. Lloyd, co-CEO

New Jersey Institute for Disabilities
Dominic Ursino, president

Stafford Township Police Department
Thomas Dellane, chief of police

Nurse of the Year

Ludovina Archeval, director of community based services
Holy Redeemer Home Care NJ-North

Dana Beenstock, clinical manager of neurosciences
St. Joseph's Health

Kathryn DiPietro, internal medicine
Monmouth Medical Center Southern Campus

Rachel Gotshal, pediatric home health care
BAYADA Home Health Care

Susan Olson, project manager nursing service administration
Holy Name Medical Center

Helene Pietrangelo
Our Lady of Lourdes Medical Center

Physician of the Year

Angela Alistair, medical director GI medical oncology, Morristown Medical Center
Atlantic Health System

Omar Baker, co-president, chief quality & safety officer and director of performance improvement
Riverside Medical Group

Arno Fried
Advanced Neurosurgery Associates

Philippe Genereux, interventional cardiologist and co-director of the structural heart program, Gagnon Cardiovascular Institute at Morristown Medical Center
Atlantic Health System

Edwin Guzman, chairman, department of obstetrics and gynecology
Saint Peter’s University Hospital

James Pruden, director of emergency preparedness
St. Joseph's Health

Public Health Hero

Tomas Gregorio, senior executive director, Healthcare Delivery Systems iLab
New Jersey Innovation Institute

Margaret Jahn, health officer
Freehold Area Health Department

Steven Kaye, founding president
Summit Medical Group Foundation

Rachana Kulkarni, managing partner
Medicor Cardiology-Atlantic Medical Group

Gwen Rippey, community health manager
Atlantic Health System

Ernani Sadural, obstetrics and gynecology
RWJBarnabas Health

James Spaulding, simulation lab coordinator
St. Peter's University Hospital

Volunteer of the Year

Jill Gora
Summit Medical Group

Pamela Johnson
SAVE of Essex County

Nicholas Pagano
Community Medical Center

Kristen, Matthew and Trevor Sardis

Claude Schmid
Samaritan Hospice

Rosemarie Sorce
Hackensack Meridian Health - Hackensack University Medical Center

Workplace Wellness Hero – Organization

Hunterdon County Chamber of Commerce
Christopher Phelan, president and CEO

Hunterdon Medical Center
Robert Wise, president and CEO

The Valley Hospital
Howard Halverson, director of environmental services

Also Popular on NJBIZ


Write to the Editorial Department at editorial@njbiz.com.

Leave a Comment


Please note: All comments will be reviewed and may take up to 24 hours to appear on the site.

Post Comment
View Comment Policy