Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus RSS

Seton Hall-Hackensack Meridian medical school names department chairs

By ,

Yet another step in solidifying the organizational structure of the new Seton Hall University-Hackensack Meridian Health school of medicine was announced Wednesday.

Nineteen founding chairs of departments, which met for the first time formally April 7, have been revealed.

The two entities announced their founding governing board Tuesday.

“As we move toward our first class of students, I see before me a team of consummate experts, assembled, poised and ready to fundamentally change the way health care is both taught and delivered in the United States,” said Dr. Bonita Stanton, founding dean of the school. “I am thrilled by their medical expertise and moved by their demonstrated commitment to healing. But most of all, I look forward to building a new paradigm in medical education with our founding chairs.”

Here they are:

  • Dr. Brian Eric Benson, chair, Department of Otolaryngology
  • Dr. Stephen R. Colen, chair, Department of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
  • Dr. Joseph Feldman, chair, Department of Emergency Medicine
  • Dr. Andre Goy, chair, Department of Oncology
  • Dr. Laurie Jacobs, chair, Internal Medicine
  • Dr. Steven W. Kairys, chair, Department of Pediatrics
  • Dr. Martin S. Karpeh Jr., chair, Department of Surgery
  • Dr. Michael Aloysius Kelly, chair, Department of Orthopedic Surgery
  • Dr. Ciaran M. Mannion, chair, Department of Pathology
  • Dr. Mark Gorden Martens, chair, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
  • Dr. Joseph Parrillo, chair, Department of Cardiology
  • Dr. Sean Donovan Pierce, chair, Department of Radiology
  • Dr. Patrick Roth, chair, Department of Neurosurgery
  • Dr. Michael Eric Rosenberg, chair, Department of Ophthalmology
  • Dr. Mark Dennis Schlesinger, chair, Department of Anesthesiology
  • Dr. Roman Solhkhah, chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Health
  • Dr. Michael D. Stifelman, chair, Department of Urology
  • Dr. Florian P. Thomas, chair, Department of Neurology
  • Dr. Robin O. Winter, chair, Department of Family Medicine

You May Have Missed...

Write to the Editorial Department at editorial@njbiz.com

Leave a Comment


Please note: All comments will be reviewed and may take up to 24 hours to appear on the site.

Post Comment
View Comment Policy