Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus RSS

NJBIZ Healthcare Heroes winners named

By , - Last modified: June 23, 2015 at 1:19 PM
Dr. Patrick Anderson
Dr. Patrick Anderson
Physician of the Year winner.


The 2015 Healthcare Heroes awards program honors the best individuals and organizations that are making a significant impact on the quality of health care in New Jersey.

On Tuesday, the winners were named during a breakfast ceremony held at The Palace at Somerset Park in Somerset.

Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey is the presenting sponsors of the program.

The major sponsors are CareOne Management LLC, Comcast Business, Hackensack University Medical Center and Brach Eichler LLC.

The supporting sponsors are the New Jersey Hospital Association and the New Jersey Innovation Institute, an NJIT Corporation.

The centerpiece sponsor is CareOne Management LLC.

Education Hero (Individual) — WINNER

Aly Cohen, Integrative Rheumatology Associates PC/The Smart Human LLC

Education Hero (Individual) — FINALISTS

Sidney Blanchard, Community Access Unlimited

Jeffrey Boscamp, Hackensack University Medical Center

Ruth Funderburk-Stanley, Francis E. Parker Memorial Home

Donna Mancuso, Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital Rahway

Education Hero (Organization) — WINNER

Organization: Liberty Science Center
Top executive: Paul Hoffman

Education Hero (Organization) — FINALISTS

Organization: AtlantiCare
Top executive: David Tilton

Organization: CentraState Healthcare System
Top executive: John Gribbin

Organization: Fairleigh Dickinson University | School of Pharmacy
Top executive: Michael Avaltroni

Organization: Meridian Health
Top executive: John K. Lloyd

Company: New Jersey Center for Tourette Syndrome & Associated Disorders Inc.
Top executive: Faith Rice

Healthcare Professional of the Year — WINNER

Jeffrey D.  LeBenger, MD, FACS Summit Medical Group, Summit Health Management, Summit Medical Group Foundation

Healthcare Professional of the Year — FINALISTS

Robert C. Garrett, Hackensack University Health Network

Jessica Howard, Shore Medical Center

Michael Maron, Holy Name Medical Center

Louis Sasso, Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital

Darrell K. Terry, Newark Beth Israel Medical Center

Innovation Hero (Individual) — WINNER

Donald Sebastian, New Jersey Innovation Institute

Innovation Hero (Individual) — FINALISTS

Dennis Boos, University Hospital — Newark

Stuart Peltz, PTC Therapeutics

Shafiq Rab, Hackensack University Medical Center

Michael Renzi, Continuum Health Alliance

Lizzy Straus. CareOne Management LLC

Innovation Hero (Organization) — WINNER

Organization: Christopher & Dana Reeve Foundation
Top executive: Peter Wilderotter

Innovation Hero (Organization) — FINALISTS

Organization: Certara
Top executive: Edmundo Muniz

Organization: NJ Alliance for Culture Change
Top executive: Denise Boudreau-Scott

Organization: St. Joseph's Healthcare System
Top executive: Kevin Slavin

Organization: The Pediatric Cochlear Implant Team at The Bristol Myers Squibb Children's Hospital at Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital and Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Top executive: Stephen Jones

Organization: Urban Healthcare Initiative Program
Top executive: Dale Groninger

Hospital of the Year — WINNER

Organization: Hackensack University Medical Center
Top executive: Robert C. Garrett

Hospital of the Year — FINALISTS

Organization: Children's Hospital of New Jersey
Top executive: John Brennan

Organization: Holy Name Medical Center
Top executive: Michael Maron

Organization: Jersey City Medical Center
Top executive: Joseph Scott

Organization: Saint Barnabas Medical Center
Top executive: Thomas Biga

Organization: University Hospital, Newark
Top executive: James Gonzalez

Nurse of the Year — WINNER

Maria Roesler, Barnabas Health Hospice and Palliative Care Center

Nurse of the Year — FINALISTS

Deb Brouwer, Newark Beth Israel Medical Center

Rosemary Hunt, Hackensack University Medical Center

Paula O'Neill, Raritan Bay Medical Center

Deanna Pinkham, Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital-Rahway

Lisa Rasimowicz, Hunterdon Medical Center

Physician of the Year — WINNER

Dr. Patrick Anderson, Newark Beth Israel Medical Center

Physician of the Year — FINALISTS

Dr. Victor Almeida, Monmouth Medical Center, Northern and Southern Campuses

Dr. Carman Ciervo, Kennedy Health

Dr. Joseph Feldman, Hackensack University Medical Center

Dr. Generosa Grana, MD Anderson Cancer Center at Cooper

Dr. Glen Tonnessen, Hunterdon Cardiovascular Associates

Women's Health & Wellness Hero — WINNER

Annette Cozzarelli-Franklin, Clara Maass Medical Center

Women's Health & Wellness Hero — FINALISTS

Sharyn Lewin, Holy Name Medical Center

Kate McDougall, Hackensack University Medical Center

Heather van Raalte, Princeton Urogynecology

Company: Atlantic Medical Imaging
Top executive: Dr. Robert Glassberg

Company: Princeton Radiology
Top executive: Marc Rothenberg

Workplace Wellness Hero — WINNER

Company: Viking Yacht Company, Health Services
Top executive: Patrick Healey

Workplace Wellness Hero — FINALISTS

Organization: Kennedy Health
Top executive: Joseph Devine

Company: Parker McCay
Top executive: Philip Norcross

Company: QualCare Alliance Networks Inc.
Top executive: Annette Catino

Organization: Somerset County Wellness Committee
Top executive: Michael Amorosa

Company: Transwestern
Top executive: James Postell

Volunteer of the Year — WINNER

Koreana Iman-Sample and Regina Reid, AmeriHealth New Jersey

Volunteer of the Year — FINALISTS

Walter Krug, Holy Name Medical Center

Michele Ochsner, New Jersey Alliance for Culture Change

Dr. Tushar Patel, Indian Health Camp of NJ

William Tansey III, Summit Medical Group

More From This Industry


Write to the Editorial Department at editorial@njbiz.com.

Leave a Comment


Please note: All comments will be reviewed and may take up to 24 hours to appear on the site.

Post Comment
View Comment Policy