Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus RSS

NJBIZ Healthcare Heroes finalists revealed

By , - Last modified: May 7, 2015 at 10:54 AM

The 2015 NJBIZ Healthcare Heroes awards program celebrates individuals and organizations that are making a significant impact on the quality of health care in New Jersey. Here are this year's finalists.

Winners will be announced at the event on June 23. For more information, click here.

Education Hero – Individual

Sidney Blanchard, Executive Director, Community Access Unlimited, Elizabeth
Dr. Jeffrey Boscamp, Vice President and Chief Academic Officer, Hackensack University Medical Center, Hackensack
Aly Cohen, Founder/Medical Director, Integrative Rheumatology Associates PC, Monroe Township
Ruth Funderburk, Concierge, Francis E Parker, Piscataway
Donna Mancuso, Manager, Marketing and Community Education, Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital – Rahway, Rahway

Education Hero – Organization

AtlantiCare, Egg Harbor Township
CentraState Healthcare System, Freehold
Fairleigh Dickinson University | School of Pharmacy, Florham Park
Liberty Science Center Inc., Jersey City
Meridian Health, Neptune
NJ Center for Tourette Syndrome and Associated Disorders, Somerville

Hospital of the Year – Organization

Children's Hospital of New Jersey, Newark
Hackensack University Medical Center, Hackensack
Holy Name Medical Center, Teaneck
Jersey City Medical Center, Jersey City
Saint Barnabas Medical Center, Livingston
University Hospital, Newark

Healthcare Professional of the Year – Individual

Robert C. Garrett, President and Chief Executive Officer, Hackensack University Health Network, Hackensack
Jessica Howard, Pharmacist, Shore Medical Center, Somers Point
Jeffrey D. LeBenger, Chairman/CEO, Summit Medical Group, Berkeley Heights
Michael Maron
, President and CEO, Holy Name Medical Center, Teaneck
Louis Sasso
, Director of Emergency Preparedness, Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital, New Brunswick
Darrell Terry
, Chief Operating Officer, Newark Beth Israel Hospital and Children's Hospital of New Jersey, Newark

Innovation Hero – Individual

Dennis Boos, Director of Community Training and Emergency Management, University Hospital, Newark
Stuart Peltz
, Chief Executive Officer, PTC Therapeutics, South Plainfield
Dr. Shafiq Rab
, Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Hackensack University Medical Center, Hackensack
Michael Renzi
, Chief Medical Officer, Continuum Health Alliance LLC, Marlton
Donald Sebastian
, President and CEO, New Jersey Innovation Institute, Newark
Elizabeth Straus
, Executive Vice President, CareOne, Fort Lee

Innovation Hero – Organization

Certara, Princeton
Christopher & Dana Reeve Foundation
, Short Hills
NJ Alliance for Culture Change
, Kinnelon
St. Joseph's Regional Medical Center
, Paterson
The Cochlear Implant Team at The Bristol-Myers Squibb Children's Hospital at Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital and Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
, New Brunswick
Urban Healthcare Initiative Program
, East Orange

Nurse of the Year – Individual

Debra Brouwer, Registered Nurse, Newark Beth Israel Medical Center and Children's Hospital of New Jersey, Newark
Rosemary Hunt
, Administrative Director of Nursing, Women’s Services, Hackensack University Medical Center, Hackensack
Paula O'Neill, RN, Nurse Educator and Co-Director, Department of Integrative Medicine, Raritan Bay Medical Center, Perth Amboy
Deanna Pinkham
, Nurse, Critical Care Unit, Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital Rahway, Rahway
Lisa Rasimowicz
, Director - Infection Control Services, Hunterdon Healthcare, Flemington
Maria Roesler
, Director of Program Development and Palliative Care, Barnabas Health Hospice and Palliative Care, West Orange

Physician of the Year – Individual

Dr. Victor Almeida, Chair, Dept. of Emergency Services, Monmouth Medical Center, Long Branch
Dr. Patrick Anderson
, Chairman of the OB/GYN Department, Newark Beth Israel Medical Center, Newark
Dr. Carman Ciervo, Chief Physician Executive, Kennedy Health, Voorhees
Dr. Joseph Feldman
, Chairman of Emergency Services, Hackensack University Medical Center, Hackensack
Dr. Generosa Grana, Director of the MD Anderson Cancer Center at Cooper, Cooper University Health Care, Camden
Dr. Glen Tonnessen, Interventional Cardiologist, Hunterdon Medical Center, Flemington

Volunteer of the Year – Individual

Elizabeth Gilfillan, Volunteer, VNANNJ Board of Trustees, Visiting Nurse Association of Northern New Jersey, Morristown
Koreana Iman-Sample and Regina Reid, Product Manager/Provider Partnership Associate, AmeriHealth New Jersey, Cranbury
Walter Krug, Volunteer, Holy Name Medical Center, Teaneck
Michele Ochsner, Rutgers University Instructor/Co-Director, Occupational Training and Education Consortium School of Management and Labor Relations New Jersey Alliance of Culture Change, Princeton
Tushar Patel, President, Indian Health Camp of NJ-IHCNJ, Princeton
William Tansey, Cardiologist, Summit Medical Group, Short Hills

Women's Health and Wellness Hero – Individual

Annette Cozzarelli-Franklin, Medical Director of the Women's Health Center, Clara Maass Medical Center, Nutley
Sharyn Lewin, Medical Director, Dept of Gynecologic Oncology, Holy Name Medical Center, Teaneck
Kate McDougall, Operations Manager, Debra Simon Center for Integrative Medicine at HackensackUMC Fitness & Wellness Powered by the Giants, Hackensack
Heather van Raalte, Chairman of the OB/GYN Department at UMCP, Princeton HealthCare System, Plainsboro

Women's Health and Wellness Hero – Organization

Atlantic Medical Imaging, Galloway
Princeton Radiology, Kendall Park

Workplace Wellness Hero – Organization

Kennedy Health, Voorhees
Parker McCay, Mount Laurel
QualCare Alliance Networks Inc., Piscataway
Somerset County Wellness Committee, Somerville
Transwestern, Parsippany
Viking Yacht Company- Health Services, New Gretna

You May Have Missed...


Write to the Editorial Department at editorial@njbiz.com.

Leave a Comment


Please note: All comments will be reviewed and may take up to 24 hours to appear on the site.

Post Comment
View Comment Policy