Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus RSS

EWNJ names Salute to the Policy Makers 2014 awards honorees

By ,
Nancy Cantor, Chancellor, Rutgers University-Newark, was named one of this year's Salute to the Policy Makers honorees.
Nancy Cantor, Chancellor, Rutgers University-Newark, was named one of this year's Salute to the Policy Makers honorees.

Executive Women of New Jersey held its 15th biannual Salute to the Policy Makers 2014 Awards Dinner Thursday evening in East Brunswick to celebrate and highlight the exceptional professional accomplishments of 33 executive women in New Jersey.

“For more than three decades, EWNJ, the premier organization for senior level women in New Jersey, has campaigned for the advancement of women to the highest levels in international corporations, non profits and public service firms,” said EWNJ President-Elect Maureen Schneider, MSN, MBA, senior vice president of clinical development and chief nurse officer of Somerset Medical Center.

“Tonight’s event is testament to the vision our founders shared over 30 years ago,” said President Keitha Lackey, who was once the director of Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey.

Barbara Corcoran, real estate mogul, author and member of the “Shark Tank” on ABC-TV, served as the event’s keynote speaker.

John Strangfeld, chairman and CEO of Prudential Financial Inc., served as the event’s honorary dinner chair.

“The importance of our work is clear, especially now as more and more women are assuming leadership roles in business, government, education and industry,” Strangfeld said. “Each time we help a woman reach her academic goals, we are investing in the future.”

In addition to providing professional collaborative environments for women in business and promoting gender diversity in the boardroom, EWNJ funds scholarships for women enrolled in graduate programs in New Jersey’s academic institutions.

Since the scholarship program’s inception in 1986, Salute Dinner funds have provided more than $1.2 million in scholarships to more than 400 women in New Jersey. Last year’s scholarship winner Desiree Polakowski attended the event to speak about her academic experiences since.

This year's Salute to the Policy Makers honorees are:

Nancy Cantor
Chancellor, Rutgers University-Newark
Diana Drysdale
President, PSEG Power Ventures, PSEG
Rachana A. Kulkarni, MD
President of Medicor Cardiology P.A.
Dawn Afanador
Chief Marketing Officer, Gibbons P.C.
Diane M. Wasser
Partner, EisnerAmper LLP
Leecia Eve
Vice President-N.J., N.Y. & Conn. Region, Verizon Communications
Nance K. Dicciani
Director, Rockwood Holdings Inc.
Donna Stella
Principal, Strategic Direction, Advisory Services, Ernst & Young LLP
Caroline Feeney
President, Agency Distribution, Prudential Financial Inc.
Mariellen Dugan
Senior Vice President and General Counsel, New Jersey Resources Corporation
Alison Grann, MD
Chairman of Radiation Oncology, Saint Barnabas Medical Center
Brenda Stafford
General Counsel, Robert Wood Johnson Physician Enterprise
Tracy L. Munford
Vice President of Public Relations and Community Affairs, Newark Beth Israel Medical Center and Children’s Hospital of New Jersey
Heather L. Weber
Partner, ParenteBeard LLC
Jane A. Kurek
Executive Director, The Provident Bank Foundation
H. Linda Rose
Senior Vice President Health Services, Springpoint Senior Living
Ellen C. McSherry
Chief Operating Officer, New Jersey Society of CPAs
Kathleen Barrett Einhorn
Partner-Director of Commercial Litigation, Genova, Burns Giantomasi Webster LLC
Susan J. Flynn-Hollander, Esq.
New Jersey Health Foundation and Treasurer, VP, Corporate General Counsel, Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital
Sally Walker
Executive Director Project Management, NPS Pharmaceuticals
Adele Gulfo
EVP, Global Collaborations and Strategic Operations, Mylan Inc.
Linda Tharby
Group President, Becton Dickinson
Patti E. Russell
Vice President and Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer, Becton Dickinson
Jill Gateman
SVP, Corporate Banking Market Leader, PNC Bank N.A.
Susan Reed, CPA CFP
Principal, SaxBST LLP
Ann Painter
President and CEO, Visiting Nurse Association of Somerset Hills
Karen Meleta
Vice President, Consumer and Corporate Communications, Wakefern Food Corp.
Gail E. Gibson, Ed.D.
President, Essex County College
Jo-Ann Mendles
Vice Chairman, Somerset Medical Center
Kelly Watson
Managing Partner, KPMG LLP
Taryn M. Bostjancic, CPA
Partner, WithumSmith+Brown, PC
Mary Ellen Clyne, Ph.D.
President and Chief Executive Officer, Clara Maass Medical Center
Dee Marshall
CEO, Raise the Bar LLC


Short Hills-based Investors Bancorp completes $2.2B public stock offering

Feds OK $47 million for N.J. offshore wind project amid clash with state regulators

FDU poll: Americans prefer pot over online gaming

Also Popular on NJBIZ

Write to the Editorial Department at editorial@njbiz.com

Leave a Comment


Please note: All comments will be reviewed and may take up to 24 hours to appear on the site.

Post Comment
View Comment Policy