Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus RSS

NJBIZ names Healthcare Heroes awards finalists for 2014

The 2014 NJBIZ Healthcare Heroes awards program honors individuals and organizations that are making a significant impact on the quality of health care in New Jersey.

NJBIZ has named the finalists in the 2014 Healthcare Heroes awards program. The award program, produced by NJBIZ is sponsored by Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey, Hackensack University Medical Center, Comcast Business, New Jersey Hospital Association, WithumSmith+Brown, PC, MD Online, and Comcast Spotlight

An independent panel of judges evaluated the nominations and selected finalists in each of the categories. The awards finalists will be recognized and the winner in each category and will be announced during a breakfast awards ceremony on Tuesday, June 24, 2014.

Congratulations to the 2014 Healthcare Heroes Finalists!
Listed in alphabetical order by category.

Education Hero – Individual
Desiree Barber, MPH
Newark Beth Israel Medical Center
Thomas Cavalieri
Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine
Joseph Feldman, M.D.
Barbara Mintz
Newark Beth Israel Medical Center
Mike Munoz
AmeriHealth New Jersey
Lisa Salberg
Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy Association

Education Hero – Organization
American Conference on Diversity
Children's Cardiomyopathy Foundation
Clara Maass Medical Center Foundation/LIFELINE CHALLENGE to Healthy Living
Institute for Prevention
Meridian Health (Paint the Town Pink)
Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital Community Health Promotions Program
Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital Rahway

Healthcare Professional of the Year
Esther Deblinger
CARES Institute at Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine
Elaine Hewins
Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital
Denise Lang
Morris CARES
Rev. Barbara Miles
Community Medical Center
Joseph Roth
NJ Sharing Network
David Shulkin
Atlantic Health

Hospital of the Year
HackensackUMC at Pascack Valley
Kennedy University Hospital
Shore Rehabilitation Institute

Innovation Hero
BioArray Solutions
Congenital Heart Program
NJ Self-Help Group Clearinghouse at Saint Clare's Hospital
NPS Pharmaceuticals
Shafiq Rab - HackensackUMC
Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital Heart Transplant and Heart Failure Treatment Program
St. Joseph's Children's Hospital at St. Joseph's Regional Medical Center

Nurse of the Year
Kimberly Brennan
Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital
Laura Cardillo, RN
Avalon Assisted Living in Hillsborough
Franklin Cresencia
Morristown Medical Center
Catherine Goodheart
Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital Rahway
Judith Kutzleb
Holy Name Medical Center
Fran Monteleone
Clara Maass Medical Center
Maryellen Wiggins, MSN, RN, ACRN, NE-BC
Newark Beth Israel Medical Center

Physician of the Year
Peggy Avagliano
Atlantic Medical Imaging
Joseph Barone
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Children's Hospital at Robert Wood, Johnson University Hospital
David Condoluci
Kennedy Health System
Martin Finkel
CARES Institute at Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine
Margaret Fisher
The Unterberg Children's Hospital at Monmouth Medical Center
Alison Grann, M.D.
Saint Barnabas Medical Center
James McKinney
Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital

Volunteer of the Year
Seth Grumet
Stomp the Monster
Rachel Katz
Daughters of Israel
Steven Kaye
AEPG Wealth Strategies
Joseph McDonough
Elizabeth, NJ Police Department
Chris Miller
Clinton First Aid & Rescue Squad
Peter Rooney
NJ Sharing Network Foundation

Women's Health and Wellness Hero
BioReference Laboratories, Inc.
Capital Health Center for Womens Health
Ferring Pharmaceuticals Inc.
Dana Holwitt - Saint Clare's Health System
Ami Vaidya, M.D. - John Theurer Cancer Center at HackensackUMC

Workplace Wellness Hero
Hackensack University Medical Center
Kennedy Health System
Live Well
Newark Beth Israel Medical Center
Shionogi Inc.
Somerset County

Finalists and winners were chosen by an independent panel of judges including: Jeff Brown, Affiliated ACOs at the NJ Health Care Quality Institute; Beverly J. Lynch, Advocacy and Management Group; Dean Paranicas, Healthcare Institute of New Jersey; and Wardell Sanders, New Jersey Association of Health Plans.

For more information about the 2014 program, contact Melissa Sullenberger at melissas@njbiz.com or (732) 246-5737.

Sponsorship opportunities are also available. Contact Mark Cialdella at (732) 246-5729.

Also Popular on NJBIZ

Leave a Comment


Please note: All comments will be reviewed and may take up to 24 hours to appear on the site.

Post Comment
View Comment Policy